1809 replies to this topic

#41 Marauder3D

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Patron Saint
  • The Patron Saint
  • 744 posts
  • LocationHuntress

Posted 23 July 2017 - 01:55 PM

As a non practicing attorney, I can see how this might look bad to a judge. I am officially concerned.

#42 Zergling

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Angel
  • The Angel
  • 2,439 posts

Posted 23 July 2017 - 01:56 PM

View PostMarauder3D, on 23 July 2017 - 01:55 PM, said:

As a non practicing attorney, I can see how this might look bad to a judge. I am officially concerned.

HG is making a lot of claims that are no longer true in its statements. They might have once been true, but they aren't anymore.

#43 JC Daxion

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Liquid Metal
  • Liquid Metal
  • 5,230 posts

Posted 23 July 2017 - 01:57 PM

View PostZergling, on 23 July 2017 - 01:55 PM, said:

lol Thanks!

#44 Zergling

• The Angel
  • The Angel
  • 2,439 posts

Posted 23 July 2017 - 02:02 PM

Like, here's the VF-1 Valkyrie:
One
Two
Three

And here's the Transformers toy that HG sued Hasbro over in 2013:
One
Two
Three

Is HG lost that case so badly, then something must have changed. Which also explains why PGI/HBS/Catalyst/etc got so ballsy about the Unseen in the last few years.

#45 JC Daxion

• Liquid Metal
  • Liquid Metal
  • 5,230 posts

Posted 23 July 2017 - 02:05 PM

View PostMarauder3D, on 23 July 2017 - 01:55 PM, said:

I wouldn't be, there is way to much precedence on art.. Just look at "Ice, Ice, Baby" and Queen's song, Under pressure. A single extra note made it an entirely unique song.

Tom petty won a suit, or lost a suit, because he used, or had his exact rift used. Sometimes in music it happens on accident. But drawings, and art is almost impossible with out being exact.. There is a reason why there are no lawsuits over cars that look exactly alike.