Is Anybody Even Having Fun Right Now?

84 replies to this topic

#81 PhilTKaswahl

• PipPipPip
  • The Marauder
  • The Marauder
  • 94 posts

Posted 29 January 2019 - 03:08 AM

Started playing last October, so perhaps tne novetly hasn't worn off, but I'm still having enough fun to keep coming back. And while bad games can be annoying and frustrating, it's nowhere near the level of salt and team griefing than I experience from games like, say, Overwatch, DOTA, or the like. Plus, with MW5 not out it's the only game I can take a lot of classic IS 'Mechs that I became attached to from the novels that introduced me to the franchise.

#82 Pontius_Pilot

Rookie

• Giant Helper
  • Giant Helper
  • 7 posts

Posted 29 January 2019 - 03:33 AM

I only started playing a week ago, but...Yeah. I can say it's fun.

I'm still a spud about half the time, but I've found my niche, and growing up playing MW lets me have a little nostalgia when I hear the startup sequence. I get to be super obsessive about my loadouts (but in a fun way, like building a ship in a bottle that fires cohesive energy bolts at people), and I even got picked up by a team, so...yeah!

Not to say that it isn't a ROYAL pain in the arse sometimes, like when I derp around a corner and run into a firing line because I wasn't paying attention. Or getting Pirhana'd in the back for the eleventy-thousandth time. Or the RACsploit thing going on now. But there's also a lot of times where you damn near pull your shirt off like an Italian soccer fan when you finish a match that had you literally sweating, or you and your little squad just stopped a murderball dead in its tracks.

Or that day you take a triple-RAC2 bushwhacker and do a little facetime with an assault, and somehow come out of it better than they do. That was a turning point for me. I'd learned, and applied it vigorously with a healthy dose of aiming for the cockpit to blind 'em.