Old vets sound off

810 replies to this topic

#341 Hybris

Rookie

• 7 posts
  • LocationIn my Atlas flying on Jump Jets... coming for you.

Posted 12 July 2012 - 07:19 PM

22 Years old but I have been playing MechCommander (and the Gold version) since 1997-98 along with MechCommander 2 then Mechwarrior 4: Vengence and Mechwarrior 4: Mercenaries which really cemented my love of the series and gave me the idea of how a scifi mercenary really should act.

I would have said I have played Mechwarrior 3 but I could never get the game to go past completing the 1st mission it would just lock up and tell me to play the 1st mission repeatedly.

Edited by Hybris, 13 July 2012 - 07:35 PM.

#342 DutchDreadnaught

Rookie

• Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 9 posts
  • LocationThe Netherlands

Posted 12 July 2012 - 07:32 PM

32, played everything from the mechwarrior series. But there's a pretty big gap from the last one to now... good to see so many have waited for this as well...

I hope you guys still know how to pilot a mech :D

#343 Viper GK

Rookie

• 2 posts

Posted 13 July 2012 - 09:42 AM

Long time player, first time poster. Just another one of those GEnie guys. (I can't believe that system ever closed for as much money as I, and I'm sure many, many others spent playing that game.) I see a few names out there that I remember from those days.

On GEnie I was Maj Gen Viper *GK* (retired), and was Davion House XO while Vector was the House Leader. G stood for Gunslinger, a stable of Davion’s top 12 Solaris fighters, and of course K stood for Knight of Davion. I also ran the Ranking, Challenge and Tournament systems for Solaris on the GEnie BBS system for a long time.

I look forward to catching up with everyone and reminiscing about the good old pay-to-play days! From the sound of it I’ll be seeing everyone online in a few short weeks!

-Viper

#344 Grayer

Rookie

• 5 posts

Posted 16 July 2012 - 02:56 PM