I've Got A Big Fluffy Favour To Ask, Pgi.

67 replies to this topic

#41 Appogee

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 10,966 posts
  • LocationOn planet Tukayyid, celebrating victory

Posted 24 October 2014 - 01:31 AM

View PostLogan Hawke, on 23 October 2014 - 06:49 AM, said:

I bet you tons of us forumites would be willing to write fluff for small MC stipends per piece! :D

Brilliant idea. I'm a qualified writer. I would contribute for MC.

Edited by Appogee, 24 October 2014 - 01:32 AM.

#42 Alistair Winter

• Storm
  • Storm
  • 10,823 posts
  • LocationBergen, Norway, FRR

Posted 24 October 2014 - 02:07 AM

25 likes now! Half-way to make this a 'popular' post, which I'm pretty sure makes PGI obligated by Canadian law to do as we say. I've read that on the internet.

View PostSergeant Random, on 24 October 2014 - 12:19 AM, said:

Monetize the fluff? [Coming this spring! CW fluff pack! $80 for early access to battlemech stories and weapon descriptions! Neatly embedded as info buttons on the item icons! Also accessible via an Encyclopedia menu! $$$! Packaged with $50 worth of cbills and 2 months of Premium Time!]
Oops, did I just give them ideas?

Just in case you're not joking, I think this would backfire just like the golden mechs. Some people would buy it, the rest would be really, really insulted at the cash grab.

As others have said already, the fluff is there to make people more invested in the game, to make them want to follow the story unfolding in Community Warfare. Without the fluff, the articles, the news reports, the battle reports, biographies, the videos, there's not much that'll make people interested in the battle between different factions on a map they don't recognise.