#81 ScarecrowES

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Knight Errant
  • Knight Errant
  • 2,812 posts
  • LocationDefending the Cordon, Arc-Royal

Posted 27 September 2016 - 05:15 AM

View PostVoid Angel, on 26 September 2016 - 09:49 PM, said:

I'm quoting your earlier post after a later one to point out part of what I'm talking about in the post you quoted of mine. The first quote here boils down to "I'm an expert gamer, and my opinion is authoritative - you don't understand reality if you disagree." This is precisely what knee-jerk type reactions I'm talking about. Similarly, while it's not wrong to math things out (one of my favorite quotes from my WoW days is "raid dps is a math problem with graphics, and you have the wrong answer,") you still have to remember that we're not using that math against a standard baseline like a target dummy, or even a raid boss encounter. You also don't have access to sufficient data sets to even superficially attempt a complete model.

It's not my intent to dismiss theorycrafting out of hand, but I do urge just a bit of uncertainty. You can easily math basic weapon stats, but it's harder to math out the interlocking effects of player actions, energy draw, and hardpoint distribution on a spreadsheet. Too many posts in this thread are rock-solid certain that their incomplete modeling must predict live play - but if you could do that, MMO games wouldn't have balance issues. There'd be an industry standard that people would all use, and that would be that. This isn't the case, obviously - and we should remember that.