783 replies to this topic

#641 Darena Bryant

Rookie

• Knight Errant
  • 5 posts
  • LocationNew York, USA

Posted 09 January 2016 - 09:14 PM

Well, here's a question.

I'm pretty new to the game. I like long range engagements too. I use LRMs, and have tried out a mech armed with PPCs and found it to my liking. I tend to let the other mechs precede me while either firing missiles at targets that get revealed, or angling for shots with my weapons from as far back as possible.

Does this mark me as "timid"?

I often find myself getting attacked from the rear by one of the enemy mechs who seem to casually stroll past the front lines right up to where I'm firing on their teammates. Actually, strike that. ALWAYS getting attacked like that. It's as if I'm the only one anyone sees sometimes.

When I try to push forward into closer ranges, again the same thing happens. One of the enemy mechs goes, "Hey look! That mech looks like it has missiles! LET'S GET IT!!!" ...and next thing I know I have to try to run in reverse with 3 to 5 mechs all shooting at me at once. I even had a match where one of my team stood not 10 meters from where I was taking a pounding and just sorta... watched. After I was down, he killed the offending mech. He later tried to tell me how I should run towards the rest of the team when I found myself getting ganked like that.

I pilot a Catapult C4. Early into the game, I removed the LRM20s and added one LRM15, two SRM6s, and two medium lasers for variety, hoping to be able to back off some of the crazed "missile boat killers" who forget everything else to destroy me as soon as they see me. And they DO act crazed, running right into my missiles and lasers face first, no matter the size. It doesn't help that either they all have very carefully calibrated mice connected to their computers, or my Catapult is just really fragile; I take somewhere between 1 (yes one; to the torso) to 5 hits before my mech is in a heap on the ground.