- - - - -

I Cannot Get The Hang Of Heavys -

21 replies to this topic

#1 JonahGrimm

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • 166 posts

Posted 09 May 2014 - 04:23 AM

Okay, guys - no, I'm not new. I'm so not new it hurts...

But I am new to heavies.

I regularly pull 400+ damage games in my beloved lights - even my 'heavy raven' and trollish Locust-with-an-ER-PPC builds. I can run my trebuchets and bludgeon PUGs with all sorts of crazy builds, and am starting to get that way with Griffons and have tried (and enjoyed) Hunchbacks.

But I cannot, for the life of me, do anything heavier than 55 tons or so.

I stick with the group, I work in order, I hug cover - I'm even trying out Quickdraws with their oversized engines (and I do like them, oddly enough!) and cannot seem to get any real success with them. In most matches, I do under 100 damage and fall over as soon as the enemy makes contact with our main group.

Sometimes, I admit, I get overextended - playing lights, you have wiggle room when you end up in the wrong place, and I recognize that I do make that mistake on occasion.

Other than that... what am I doing wrong?

#2 MalodorousMonkey

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Elite Founder
  • Elite Founder
  • 283 posts
  • Location, location, location

Posted 09 May 2014 - 04:33 AM

It's hard to say for sure without having seen you play, though, I will say that getting overextended in a heavy is a death sentence in many cases, unlike with lights.

Also bear in mind that you can't peek out if cover to take a quick shot as effectively as you can in a light. You're a bigger target, slower, and have a lower acceleration/deceleration rate.

Besides that, I would have to see you play. Shoot me a friend invite in game sometime and we can play a few. (Though, I can't guarantee when I'll be able to play this weekend.)

#3 kiriage

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • The 1 Percent
  • 119 posts
  • LocationCairns, Australia

Posted 09 May 2014 - 04:45 AM